I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Department of Tribal Affairs (Plain) Directorate of Welfare of Plain Tribes & Backward Classes

Development Councils

  • The Govt. of Assam have been taking various steps to accelerate development process for the welfare of ST in the State through democratic decentralization of power and empowering ST to participate in the planning, monitoring and implementation of TSP schemes in grassroot level by constituting Territorial Councils, Autonomous Councils and Development Councils for different ST communities in the State.

    The various development councils constituted by the Govt. are as follows:

    Sl. No.Name of Development Councils
    1Barak Valley Hill Tribes Development Council
    2Sarania Kachari Dev. Council
    3Amri Karbi Dev. Council
    4Bengali Speaking Dev. Council
    5Kalita Dev. Council
    6Karbi people outside Karbi Anglong Dev. Council
    7Brahmin Dev. Council
    8Jolha Dev Council
    9Goria Dev. Council
    10Barman Dimasa Kachari Dev Council
    11SC Dev. Council
    12Hindi Speaking Dev. Council
    13Tea Garden & Ex Tea Garden Dev Council
    14Bishnupriya Manipuri Dev. Council
    15Maimal Dev. Council
    16Moran Dev. Council
    17Motak Dev Council
    18Moria Dev Council
    19Gorkha Dev. Council
    20Adivasi Dev. Council
    21Koch Rajbongshi Dev. Council
    22Chutia Dev Council
    23Nath Yogi Dev Council
    24Tai Ahom Dev Council
    25Mech Kachari Dev Council
    26Manipuri Dev Council
    27Sadharan Jati Dev. Council
    28Singpho (Man Tai) Dev Council
    29Sut Dev. Council
    30Kumar Dev Council
    31Modahi Dev. Council
    32Hajong Dev Council
    33Chaodang Dev Council